Welcome to my Blog!

Hello World

Sorry... I had to 😂

Welcome to my blog! I want to use this blog partly to document my journey to become a Data Analyst, partly to share my projects, and partly to inspire and write helpful advice.

Anything that will help my followers who may also be trying to break into tech, or just generally improve their lives.

Mostly this is a place for me to look back on in the future, and remember what it took to get to where I am.

Here's a short intro:

I found programming on a whim. I was stuck in what felt like a dead-end industry, and I wanted something new. I was tired of being overworked and underpaid, and with a young daughter to support, I needed something with a brighter future. I came across a video that suggested programming as a career because you can be high-paid with no degree. I dove head in and began learning front-end development online at Team Treehouse and Udemy.

It took only a few months before I had a strong feeling front-end dev wasn't for me; I had no passion for it. But I kept pushing, partly out of ignorance, partly out of desperation. I was eager to break into tech. Eventually, I tried Angela Yu's "100 Days of Python" course on Udemy and for the first time, I really loved programming. Python had me hooked, and I looked for jobs I could do that use it.

Enter Data Analysis

I stumbled on Data analysis by chance, and it seemed to really fit my analytical mindset. A few online courses later and I was obsessed. I loved everything about the field, even the "boring" stuff like data cleaning, and I knew this was the work I wanted to do. I decided to get more serious and take on the Google Data Analytics certificate, which I finished in July.

Since then I haven't missed a day of studying. I write code every day, study, and build visualizations and projects on my weekends off. I want to be the best Data Analyst I can be, and I'm eager to get my first role in the field.

I started my job search at the beginning of the month and although I've been hit with quite a few rejections, I don't let it get me down. Every setback is an opportunity for learning and refining.

This September is my 30th birthday...

1Ibq.gif

My goal is to start this decade of my life with a new career and a much more exciting trajectory. I know I can do it, and I'm extremely grateful to be able to share my story here. I hope someone else will find inspiration in my story and writings, and make their own journey towards success,

Thanks for reading my first post! This is only the beginning.

Until next time,

Josh Almodovar

Â